Paraguay Becomes Newest Member of Apostille Convention on August 30, 2014

Paraguay’s apostille status became official this past week on August 30, 2014 as it joined the countries that accept the apostille, the simplified legalization process developed in 1961. Only 4 countries out of the 13 in South America hold onto to the old legalization rituals and do not follow the apostille procedures: Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, and Guyana. Hopefully they will modernize soon to make life a little easier for people dealing with documents going to those countries.